Scottish Universities Physics Alliance

Scottish Universities Summer Schools in Physics No. 62


Extra-Solar Planets:

The detection, formation, evolution 
and dynamics of planetary systems

Sabhal Mor Ostaig, Isle of Skye,
United Kingdom

28th May - 8th June 2007

This summer school (which is the latest in the 'Cortina' series of summer schools and Advanced Study Institutes on astrodynamics) aims to bring together young astronomers from a diverse range of fields relevant to the study of extra-solar planetary systems: their observational detection and characterisation and the theoretical description of their origin, formation and evolution. 

The core programme will consist of lectures by internationally leading experts,  supplemented by workshops and informal discussion sessions.  The programme aims to enable the exchange of new ideas across these fields, to improve our understanding of our own solar system and its place in the diverse range of planetary systems discovered so far.

Sabhal Mor Ostaig,  situated on the Island of Skye off the northwest coast of Scotland, provides an ideal venue for the summer school:  Scotland's only Gaelic College, set amidst breathtaking mountain and coastal scenery, it is a quiet and secluded location yet with state-of-the-art conference facilities and excellent accommodation.

Application to participate in the summer school can be made via our registration page.

Major Sponsors: Scottish Universities Physics Alliance Scottish Universities Summer Schools in Physics
Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council European Science Foundation
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council
  General Information
  How to Apply
  Lecturers and Lecture Topics
  List of Participants
  Programme of lectures and seminars
Lecture presentations Seminar presentations
  Venue Information
  Travel Information
  Local Information: 
  Sabhal Mor Ostaig and Skye
  News and Updates
  Contact Addresses
  SUPA homepage
  SUSSP homepage
  ESF homepage
  PPARC / STFC homepage
  EPSRC homepage

Organising Committee
Director:  Prof Bonnie A. Steves   Glasgow Caledonian University,UK
Secretary:  Dr Martin A. Hendry University of Glasgow, UK
Treasurer:  Prof Andrew Collier Cameron University of St Andrews, UK
Prof Keith Horne University of St Andrews, UK
Dr Ken Rice University of Edinburgh, UK
Mr Anoop Sivasankaran  Glasgow Caledonian University, UK
Prof Claude Froeschlé  Observatoire de la Cote d'Azur, France
Prof Andrea Milani Universita di Pisa, Italy

GCal logo Pisa logo

This site is maintained by Martin Hendry
Last updated: 26th April 2007